Treasure Search

Something I try to do is to find the sacred hidden within the “stuff” of regular life. It’s like searching for treasure.

The day began like an ordinary day, but one phone call changed everything. My dear friend was in the hospital and not expected to live much longer. Her husband thought I might like to say goodbye. I went to the hospital to send my friend heavenward with one last word of love. Words were exchanged, hugs given and bible verses shared.

Then I found treasure. I saw love. Real love. These two had been married for nearly 51 years. He by her bedside, feeding her ice chips. She looking at him with concern as his shoulders heaved with sobs. They both knew that her time upon this earth was nearly over. Yet, the love that passed between them as he carefully placed the ice in her mouth was unmistakable. Grateful to be observing this divine moment, I almost had to look away as the tears mounted in my eyes.

She had fought cancer off and on for over 20 years. Then came the Alzheimer’s. At the end, he became her constant caregiver.

As I watched them, I was struck by the beauty of the moment. She had no makeup and her face was just a shadow of the glowing beauty she once was. Yet, her husband gently cared for her as if she were a queen.

Love. Real love. Selfless love. Life-long love. Christ-like love. Treasure indeed.

6 thoughts on “Treasure Search

Leave a comment